Become a Board Member

If you are interested in applying for the board, please contact us.

Contact US

Our Staff & Board of Directors

  • Melissa Compton, Executive Director
    Melissa has been involved with the Lone Star Chapter since learning her son has hemophilia in 2003. She began volunteering, and has served as Hemophilia Walk Manager and Program Coordinator before becoming Executive Director. Melissa graduated from Texas A&M University, where she met her husband Brian. She and Brian have two children, son Kyle, and daughter Sarah. She is thrilled to be serving the bleeding disorders community of Texas.

Heidi Hensley, Director of Community Relations Heidi has worked for the chapter since 2008. She is privileged to serve such an amazing community! It is important to her to raise awareness for the bleeding disorders community as well as help provide families with education, support and advocacy. Heidi graduated from Texas A&M University. She is married to her high school sweetheart and they have four children. She enjoys spending time with family and friends and playing tennis.

Kelley O’Hara, Outreach and Education Coordinator Kelley has been involved with the Lone Star Chapter since her son’s hemophilia diagnosis in 2000. She became involved with the First Step program helping newly diagnosed families and served on the board as a trustee. Kelley graduated from Texas A&M University with a psychology degree then became a nurse as a second career. She is married to Ryan and they have a blended family of five children. She is excited to be back involved with the bleeding disorder community.

tTara Kosh, Development Manager

We are excited to welcome Tara Kosh to our staff as Development Manager! More to come on Tara soon!

The Board of Directors for the Lone Star Chapter of the National Hemophilia Foundation is the governing body for the Chapter. The Board, along with its advisors, meets bi-monthly to discuss governing and programmatic issues for the organization.

    • Amanda Wolgamott, President
    • Allison Pohl, 1st Vice President
    • Dan Bond, 2nd Vice President
    • Aaron Gonzalez, Treasurer
    • Heather Pohl, Secretary
    • Gail Boggs, Trustee
    • Celia Patino, Trustee
    • Juan Guzman, Trustee
    • James Setliff, Trustee
    • Laura Portales, Trustee
    • Donna Oldfield, PT, Gulf States HTC, Treatment Center Advisor
    • Trinh Nguyen Texas Children’s Comprehensive HTC, Treatment Center Advisor
    • Madi Boggs, Teen Advisor